AGES 5-7



The normal egocentricity of young children often leads to misbehavior that evokes negative responses from others. These negative responses can lead to a destructive cycle of negative action and reaction.

The purpose of the HMBG products is help break the cycle of negative action and reaction. This is accomplished by helping children replace misbehavior with acceptable behavior.

Each HMBG book:

* defines a misbehavior,

* explains the cause of the misbehavior,

* discusses the negative effects of the misbehavior, and

* offers suggestions for replacing the misbehavior with acceptable behavior.


Children 5 – 7 years of age are naturally egocentric. Even their concern for other people is based on whatever personal benefits can be derived from others. Therefore, preoccupation with personal matters precedes a young child’s interest in social matters.

Given every child’s normal developmental progression from being egocentric to being social, and the natural progression from less offensive misbehavior to more offensive misbehavior, it is recommended that the HMBG subjects be presented in the following developmental sequence:


In order to derive the maximum benefits from the HELP ME BE GOOD books it is recommended that adults use the books in the following ways:

Phase One – Adult Resource: The adult reads the books for information, insights, and encouragement.

Phase Two – Adult-Child Activity: The adult uses the books with the child and encourages the child to question or comment on the subject matter.

Phase Three – Independent Activity: The child is encouraged to use the books independently of the adult for entertainment and to reinforce the subject matter.

Phase Four – Reference Material: The books are placed in the child’s library along with other resource materials and used whenever specific situations need to be addressed.


Being Lazy encourages children to take care of their own needs whenever possible and explains why they should help others.

Being Forgetful teaches children ways to overcome the forgetfulness that can cause frustration and inconvenience for them and their families.

Being Careless explains the problems caused by carelessness and teaches children how to be careful.

Being Messy explains the problems caused by messiness and teaches children how to be neat.

Being Wasteful explains why children should conserve resources and how they can do so.

Overdoing It teaches children why overindulgence is harmful and explains how they can avoid being overindulgent.

Showing Off explains why children show off and why showing off is not a good way to get the attention and approval children need.

Being a Bad Sport explains the disadvantages of being a bad sport and teaches children how to avoid being one.

Being Selfish teaches the importance of unselfishness and teaches children practical ways to share.

Being Greedy explains the disadvantages of being greedy and encourages children not to be greedy.

Breaking Promises defines trust and explains how children can develop and maintain trust in their relationships.

Disobeying explains why parents tell their children what to do and encourages children to obey their parents.

Lying defines dishonesty and encourages children to be truthful.

Interrupting defines interruptions and explains under what conditions interruptions are and are not acceptable.

Whining explains why children whine and encourages them to utilize more positive ways to get attention and have their needs met.

Complaining explains the difference between constructive and destructive criticism and explains when complaining is and is not helpful.

Throwing Tantrums explains why tantrums occur and helps children find constructive ways to deal with anger.

Teasing shows children how to respond when they are being teased and encourages them to avoid teasing other children.

Tattling defines tattling and explains when it is appropriate and inappropriate to tattle.

Gossiping discusses the problems that gossiping creates and encourages children to avoid making negative statements about others.

Being Rude defines the Golden Rule and shows children how they can practice it in their relationship with others.

Snooping defines snooping, explains how it can destroy trust, and admonishes children to respect the privacy of others.

Cheating encourages children to keep their desire to win in proper perspective and encourages them to play fairly.

Stealing explains why stealing is inappropriate and shows children how to respond if and when they take something that does not belong to them.

Being Bullied explains why children bully others and shows constructive ways to deal with a bully.

Being Bossy explains the disadvantages of being bossy and encourages children to avoid bossing others.

Being Destructive explains how destruction can be harmful and shows children how to avoid being destructive.

Fighting explains the negative effects of fighting and suggests better ways for children to resolve their conflicts.

Being Mean defines cruel behavior and its damaging effects and encourages children to avoid being cruel to others.